Unwanted SPAM Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Add2it.com Discussions » Guestbook » Unwanted SPAM « Previous Next »

Author Message
 

Vivian Nichol

Rating: 
Votes: 1 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, January 17, 2002 - 06:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Frank Bauer,
I'm getting porn soliticitations like the following thanks to your add2it site. I don't know how I got on, but TAKE ME OFF! And fix the code on your removal web page at http://66.163.34.11:832/cgi-bin/remove/sub.cgi, so it will work. Don't let yourself be used to dispense this TRASH!!! After the copy of the e-mail I received, is the source code for your page. Thanks.

To:

Date: Thu, 17 Jan 2002 10:58:56 -1800

Subject: Call Me Back - URGENT!! FFIXX

Message-ID:

Received: from mx1.boston.juno.com (mx1.boston.juno.com [64.136.24.33])

by m4.boston.juno.com with SMTP id AAA8EQAUFAA8LJ4S

for (sender );

Thu, 17 Jan 2002 11:56:37 -0500 (EST)

Received: from mail.coscodl.com ([202.97.167.116])

by mx1.boston.juno.com with SMTP id AAA8EQAUEALW8P3J

for (sender );

Thu, 17 Jan 2002 11:56:36 -0500 (EST)

Received: from mx0.netian.com (slip-32-101-130-25.mn.us.prserv.net [32.101.130.25]) by mail.coscodl.com with SMTP (Microsoft Exchange Internet Mail Service Version 5.5.2448.0)

id DC90NTYH; Fri, 18 Jan 2002 01:22:22 +0800

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: text/plain; charset="Windows-1252"

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

<snip>
 

Frank Bauer (Admin)

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 12:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello Vivian,

Add2it.com does not tolerate any kind of Spam and is not responsible for the message you received.

To assist you with your situation I traced the user of the Add2it Mailman Free script. Anybody can download this script for free at Add2it.com. I traced the problem user to the following websites and email addresses:

- http://66.163.34.27/ & http://www.freegirlfun.com

- alobeck@worldnet.att.net & custsvc@freegirlfun.com

I contacted that person at the email address and asked to remove the script or at least all references to Add2it.com and to honor all unsubscribe requests from other people.

When I checked again, the page http://66.163.34.27:832/removes/remove.html was still there, but the script has been removed.

To protect yourself from this type of email listing I can make the following suggestions:

- Request to be removed from any list the person might have at the above email addresses

- Usually I would recommend not to use automated unsubscribe functions from Spammers... sometimes they use them to find out what addresses are valid... and not to actually unsubscribe people.

In this case the remove.htm page was set up to add addresses to a 'remove' list. The actual Spam message was mailed with a different program (not Add2it Mailman Free). It could be that this person collected the unsubscribe requests for the reason I just mentioned.

If you keep receiving Spam messages from this person, I recommend to report this person / website to the proper authorities like i.e.:

- SpamCop at http://spamcop.net/

- ScamWatch, The CyberPolice at http://www.scamwatch.com/

I hope I was able to help you.

Sincerely,

Frank Bauer
 

Yoeri

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, January 20, 2002 - 10:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Same shit here, leading to your site!
 

Frank Bauer (Support)

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, January 20, 2002 - 11:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello Yoeri,

I understand that you want to get rid of these messages. I myself receive over a dozen of these Spam messages from that person every day.

So far I have not been able to get the person to stop this behavior or to at least remove the referrences to my busines from the web site.

BTW: Additional to the domains I mentioned in my earlier post, this domains (IP's) have also been used:

http://66.163.34.11
http://66.163.34.24
http://66.163.34.27
http://66.163.34.29
http://66.163.34.31
http://66.163.34.46
http://66.163.34.48
http://66.163.34.63
http://66.163.34.68
http://66.163.34.69
http://66.163.34.72

Looks like these person owns everything at 66.163.34.xxx.

If you or anybody else has an idea how to stop this insanity, please post it here.


Thank you.

Sincerely,

Frank Bauer
 

Ron Michaels

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, February 03, 2002 - 08:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have been unable to get out of this mess since adding my info to the "remove" list. Every time I try, I have to fill out one more thing, this being one of them. Hope to get out of this soon. NO thank you's from me. ME
 

itsgreg

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, February 04, 2002 - 04:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

frank
you need to fix your site
when I log in, your right frame is all text.
it has your code there not the links that should be there.
When I try to use the contact page it doesn't work either.
You are losing a lot of credibility for the software
you are trying to sell if your site doesn't work right.
 

Frank Bauer (Admin)

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, February 04, 2002 - 09:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello itsreq,

Please post which page you are referring to. I checked my contact page at http://www.add2it.com/contact.shtml as well as all pages that have frames, but I couldn't find a problem.

Please let me know what URL you are referring to.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Frank Bauer

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: